Aposematic's Blog

Conspicuous and Serving to Warn

Are You Really Green

When I was in school, many years ago. You remember, when the school system actually taught the erroneously named three Rs: reading, writing, and arithmetic. Well they also taught civics, history, and science. This last one is the one I want to point out today.

I must admit, when I was in school, I wasn’t the best student; but, I do remember some things. Things such as, don’t plants need carbon dioxide (CO2) to grow? I must admit I remembered this from school, but to make sure I didn’t remember incorrectly, I looked it up on the Internet and yes, plants do need CO2 to grow.

Now I also remember that humans, you know the animals destroying the planet, need oxygen to live and grow. But these evil, planet destroying humans also exhale CO2. Who devised such a diabolical scheme? Oh yes, I remember that too, that evil, mythical, creature Christians call God. However, I am getting away from the purpose of this post.

According to the Internet (I used the Internet, not those propaganda filled science books used back in my school days.) so it has to be correct. Anyway the Internet says:

The air that supports all life on our planet is made up of 78% nitrogen, 21% oxygen, 0.97% trace gases, and 0.03% carbon dioxide. Now I am no math genius, but it seems to me 0.03% is a very small number–in fact it is like 300 parts per million.

Now, plants need three things to live and grow–water, sunlight, and CO2. Since CO2 is such a small percentage of our earth’s total atmosphere, it would seem that plants are in peril. In fact as the available CO2 decreases, plants struggle to survive. I know this because the Internet tells me so.

A question for all of the greenies and tree huggers out there. If you are truly green, why do you want to decrease CO2 levels in our atmosphere?

Oh yeah, Al Gore told you so.

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

